American music big Sony Music Leisure has signaled intentions to make the most of non-fungible tokens (NFTs) after submitting a trademark software masking music and artists below the Columbia Information brand. 

In accordance with an Aug. 30 trademark software to the US Patent and Trademark Workplace (USPTO) shared by trademark legal professional Mike Kondoudis on Sept. 6, the applying covers “audio and video recordings that includes reside musical performances authenticated by NFTs.”

The applying additionally covers advertising and marketing providers, promotion, distribution, advertising and marketing, promoting, and on-line leisure, together with podcasts and audiovisual recordings.

The brand new trademark software comes within the wake of a number of different Sony Music-backed NFT tasks.

In August, MakersPlace, an NFT market devoted to digital artwork, secured $30 million in Sequence A financing from a number of notable firms, together with Pantera Capital, Bessemer Enterprise Companions, Coinbase Ventures, and Sony Music Leisure.

March noticed the music firm accomplice with Solana-based NFT market Snowcrash and fellow music behemoth Common Music Group to launch Bob Dylan and Miles Davis NFT collections in some unspecified time in the future in 2022, with plans for extra sooner or later.

NFTs and the Metaverse are slowly turning into extra distinguished within the music and leisure trade.

MTV’s Video Music Awards on Aug. 29 closely featured on-line and digital performances, together with Eminem and Snoop Dogg performing their new single in a Metaverse created by Yuga Labs, the identical firm behind the Bored Ape Yacht Membership.

Associated: There’s extra to NFTs than simply PFPs — 5 methods nonfungible tokens will remodel society

The track “From the D to the LBC” was launched in June, and options two Bored Ape Yacht Membership avatars owned by Eminem and Snoop Dogg.

MTV’s Video Music Awards additionally debuted a brand new award class, Greatest Metaverse Efficiency, which featured nominations for six totally different acts in its inaugural yr, Ariana Grande, Justin Bieber, Charli XCX, Twenty One Pilots, BTS, and Blackpink, who finally received.